Home Farm Early Years.
Home Farm has been a hotel since about 1950, the oldest part of the building dates back to the 1580s. The History Of Home Farm shows that the area that currently houses the kitchen, restaurant and bedrooms above the dining area was the original farmhouse. The inglenook fireplace and bread oven are believed to have been added in around 1870. Efforts to gradually extend the hotel have occured over the years, with the most recent addition – rooms 15 and 16 at the end of the building, added in 1982. The block opposite the main hotel, formerly an area for stabling for animals, is now converted into accommodation.
Why 'Home Farm'?
The name ‘Home farm’, reflects the fact that the farm was a working operation, and provided produce for the local manor house. According to records, this is likely to have been for Widworthy Court. A grade II listed Georgian Mansion that was built in 1830, as the refined home for local landowner Sir Edward Marwood Elton. Widworthy Court is now residential flats and is located 0.5 miles from Home Farm.
*This is a picture of Home Farm, Wilmington, c.1912. Mrs Emma Cole with two of her Grandsons, William (in her arms) and his brother Leonard. Home Farm which bears the date 1625 on a chimney, has been a hotel and restaurant since about 1950.
Home Farm, Wilmington pictured from what is now the A35 roadside. The old farmhouse in the background and the stables is the building at the front. The construction of the Jubilee Pump in the foreground is known to have been built by voluntary subscription to mark the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Victoria in 1897.
This is a picture of a hunt with the horse and hounds riding through Wilmington village. You can see the farmer standing outside Home Farm watching.
Wilmington Village is situated on the A35, which is the old turnpike road. In addition, the A35 in Wilmington is also part of The Trafalgar Way which is the old coaching route from Falmouth in Cornwall to central London. The route covers some 271 miles and passes through eight counties.
Since 2005, the bicentenary of the Battle of Trafalgar, the route has been known as The Trafalgar Way.This is in recognition of the historic journey made by Lieutenant Lapenotiere, the navel messenger who raced to bring news of Trafalgar to London.
The opening of The Trafalgar Way plaque at The White Hart pub in Wilmington.
As you can see the history Of Home Farm has been a rich one. Over the years Home Farm has evolved from an old farmhouse into a boutique-style country house hotel. The main building itself has been lovingly adapted into the style of a Devon longhouse. The interior has been beautifully restored and decorated to keep everything in character. As a result, the building itself still has that captivating wow factor for many new visitors from all over the world. We're delighted that it brings many loyal longstanding customers back year after year.
We hope you’ll join us here and share the captivated splendour of this characteristic old building.
The view of the main building and stable block from the car park.
The climbing rose over the stable building.
The stable building.
Home Farm reception, main front door.